Back to series

This video details scenarios where you may lose RightFax user accounts when you are synchronizing users with Active Directory.

This video details scenarios where you may lose RightFax user accounts when you are synchronizing users with Active Directory.

You may notice RightFax user accounts getting deleting or disappearing when you have synchronization of users with Active Directory using the RightFax Sync Module.

There are a couple of misconfigurations in the sync module that can cause this behavior.

Take a look at the configuration of the RightFax Sync Module.
In your Source/Active Directory Tab:

Check out the Deleted Users section.
Under the pick list you will see 3 options, let's go over these:

Never Delete user.
Select this option when synching multiple sources, this will prevent the synchronization process from deleting the users from this data source.

Only Delete if users is empty.
The user is only deleted if the record is empty (meaning that there are no documents or phonebook entries in FaxUtil for this user).

and Always Delete users.
Will always delete users when synchronizing.

Also notice that there is a checkbox for OPTIONAL: Treat users that were previously synced but are no longer in the sync as if they had been deleted.

This particular option should likely stay at the defaulted de-selected (un-checked) option for most purposes as this configuration will actually delete RightFax user accounts that still exist in Active Directory but may not appear in the container you are synchronizing. Unless you are trying to wipe out large swaths of user accounts and their faxes in RightFax, Use this option only in combination with the 'Only delete if user is empty' or the 'Never delete users' option.

Also, In syncs with multiple sources, users created by a preceding source will be detected as “no longer included” in the current source within the same sync. If the check box is selected, the specified deletion action will be performed. This is also true when using filters to sync subsets of previously-synced users. So use this option with caution.

That's it for the case of the disappearing user accounts in RightFax when using synchronization with Active Directory.

As always, if you have any questions about this topic, or any topic in the world of faxing, let us know at The Fax Guys, we are always happy to help.

This is Jay Campbell with The Fax Guys for RightFax University saying thank you for watching and Please visit us again. The RightFax University is a work under continual progress and we update often.